LOOK! I can COOK!

It’s not easy cooking for two when you’ve spent nearly 3 decades cooking for 4 or 5.  And when the two you are cooking for do not even eat the same things it is even worse.

I do not eat meat.  My hubby does not eat anything unless it has previously breathed.  In fact, his favorite saying is, “If something hasn’t died I haven’t eaten.”

Short of telling him he has to cook for himself, I do the best I can.

So when CSN Stores asked me if I’d like to review an item from one of their sites  I knew exactly what I wanted to try.

Less than 3 days after I ordered them, they were waiting for me at my front door when I came home from work.  “Surprise!” my hubby shouted when I got out of the car, “I got you a present.”

He is shameless when it comes to taking credit for gifts he did not think of.

Shameless.

The plan for supper changed the moment I saw I had new pans. While the oven preheated I washed those beauties with hot, soapy water as directed.  I dried them, sprayed them with cooking spray, and set them aside for their pending premier.  Then I mixed up some biscuit batter and baked biscuits.

While the biscuits were baking I chopped up the red onion(for both of us), green peppers(for me), spinach(for me), tomatoes(for both of us) and Canadian bacon … lots of Canadian bacon (for him).

I whisked some egg batter for omelets and poured the egg batter in the pans, he getting twice as much as me.  I placed the pans in the oven and baked those omelets until they were ALMOST done, then added the veggies (for me) and the meat (for him) and baked them a little longer.

When they were done I pulled them out, sprinkled them with grated cheddar cheese,


and removed them from the pans with a spatula, folding them on the plates, adding fresh diced tomatoes and basil, and telling them to smile while I took their picture.

Besides being delicious, they were the fluffiest omelets we have ever had.


I have never ever in my whole married life had quality cookware.

Never.

If it can’t be purchased at Walmart, picked up at a tag sale, or handed down from my mom (who purchased it at Walmart or picked it up at a tag sale) then I have never had it.

These pans are the finest quality pans I have ever owned. They are Calphalon pans.  The first thing I noticed about them when I opened them up was how sturdy and heavy they were.  And I loved them all the way through to washing them.  They cleaned up great.  They say you can use Bar Keeper’s Friend if you like, but I did not need to do that.

They are called “tapas pans” because they are small.  Think one serving.  Perfect for cooking for one person who gets a baked pork chop and the other who gets baked tilapia.  Which is exactly what I made the next night for dinner.  Using the same fresh bread crumbs that I created from my homemade 100% whole wheat bread and a little dill and crushed pepper for both toppings.

The really great thing is that they can be used in the oven, or on top of the stove.  Versatile I tell ya!  Here they are showing their stuff up top.


I’m definitely sold on the pans.  I am so excited to try a few other dishes … like chicken parmasean for him and oven grilled shrimp with parmesean sauce for me.  Or on top of the stove, a little spaghetti fritatta with sausage for him, and veggies for me

I’m giddy!

Thanks CSN!  I love my new pans.

About Becky

Wife of 29 years, mother of 3 grown sons, BELIEVER, nanny, reader, knitter, gardener, walker, blogger, lover of life
This entry was posted in in the kitchen, totally random. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to LOOK! I can COOK!

  1. Debra says:

    Those pans look so cute! I’ve never heard of baking an omelet before, they look yummy. Canadian bacon-nothing like it!

  2. Karen says:

    What a great way to put the fun back into cooking! Anything that can do that is worth it in my book. And they’re so cute!

  3. Ginger says:

    Just got my notice to say how much I love CSN. I was thinking about a give away, but you have made me think about how fun it would be to cook or bake in a new piece of cookware. I may just fall in love with food all over again, LOL

  4. Beck says:

    Aw! Those ARE awesome pans!

  5. Karen says:

    My grandma used to say how hard it was to cook for 2 after cooking for 6. I’m starting to see some of that, too.
    My aunt owns the set of calphalon pots and pans, and she uses them all the time. Looks like you have a good start on them! And I can’t believe how fluffy those eggs turned out. I’ll bet it was delicious.

  6. Glenda says:

    Oh, my!! You’ve made me so hungry; sounds delicious! I like the idea of the pans for one person. I, too, still have a problem sizing down my cooking for just John David and I.

  7. Dawn says:

    They are beautiful pans – any contest on the horizon?? The omelets look lovely!

  8. Bev says:

    So tickled for you – we bought Calphalon a few years back and even hubby loves them – they’re so easy to clean. I have one cast iron skillet for good browning but for about 95% of my cooking I go with them.

Leave a Reply

