TRUST …

My Word of the Year for 2010 is TRUST.  I had no idea how much I’d be TRUSTing when I took that word.  God and I decided on the word before I had moved to North Carolina.  Before I ended up having to look for a job.

In response to last year’s word … SIMPLICITY … which was rightfully chosen at the end of 2008, and put into practice first thing in 2009, I ended up simplifying my household and living arrangement in the process of moving.  We downsized from our 4 bedroom 3,000 square foot home to a 2 bedroom 1200 square foot rented townhouse.  We took a 70% pay cut.  We lost our 2 1/2 car garage.  We left our boys in Florida.  We gave away more than half our belongings. We lost our yard full of plants and flowers and vegetables and shrubs.  And we brought only one car.

Those were all pretty practical and very visual aspects of SIMPLICITY.

So in the process of TRUSTing, I chose to settle on the area of my detailed prayer life.  You know, the to-do list of prayer that we sometimes hand to God … as in “This is what YOU NEED TO DO God.”

What?  Am I the only one that does that?

Well, then … I confess.

I do love the way my pretend friend Father Tim from the mythical land of Mitford, NC approaches prayer.  “God, will you please be in this thing.”

Really.  That is about the way he does it.

So along with my Word of the Year for 2010, I took a verse I wanted to put into action.  I chose Ephesians 3:20 which says this, “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever!  Amen.”

In my heart, I am giving up all the details of my prayer life, other than acknowledging God’s power within me, other than acknowledging the fact that I am neither smarter nor more imaginative than my God, other than asking for His will and His name to be glorified, I am simply asking God to do “immeasurably more than I can ask or imagine.”

Because sometimes, when I hand God my to-do list of prayers, I feel like he is saying to me, “Well, sure, I can do that.  But I had something so much better in mind.”

Example:  When it dawned on us that I would need a job (We had NOT been prepared for the price of health insurance, as our previous employer paid it all), and that it would need to be full time, and that it would need to be more than minimum wage, I asked God to “please be in this thing.”

And I clicked on Craig’s list and found this family who wanted to pay me like crazy to watch their sweet boy, and time and a half for overtime to boot.  All cleanly above the table with a company that would issue my paycheck every other week.

Then we discovered that they lived 3 miles away and were on the way to my husband’s office so the one car thing did not matter.

They wanted me to do additional jobs in the home, for which they also pay me.  Laundry and kitchen keep-up.  Both of those extra jobs happen to be jobs I love.  I hate cleaning bathrooms and mopping floors, and I did not want to be a housekeeper.  So keeping the kitchen up and doing laundry is not a big deal at all to me.

Not to mention I can wear my sneakers and jeans.

And I can bring a lunch.

And I can take a walk every day (when it is not raining for a week at a time).

And I can read a book or play on my computer when the baby naps.

I thought God was pretty darn wonderful to do more than I could even imagine.  I mean, in my wildest dreams, I would not have been smart enough to imagine the details that He anticipated.

But then he added one more thing.  A rose garden.  This family rents their home, which would be considered an “executive home” in a posh neighborhood. They are both physicians.  But they do not plan to be in the area more than 3 years so they are renting.  And the landlord has a rose garden in the back yard, fenced in for the deer, sprayed monthly by a company that cares for it, but no one to tend it.

No one to dead head the spent blooms and no one to cut and enjoy the roses.  The more you cut of course, the more they bloom.  And there are 24 rose bushes of every color.

And this sweet family does not have the time or the inclination to take care of a rose garden.  Or the hydrangeas that are blooming near the house or the climbing roses that are all over the front porch or the tulips that bloomed this spring or the tomato plants they put in last week.

So every week, I cut a huge bouquet for Boo’s living room, and a smaller one for his kitchen table.  And I cut a large bouquet for my house.  Last week I added a nice vase full in Boo’s guest room, for his grandparents who came to visit.

My favorites are the white ones.  I’m so easy to please.

And as someone recently said (and I wish I knew who it was because I would give them credit … speak up you smart person!) “If I TRUST God with my eternity, shouldn’t I TRUST Him with today?”

About Becky

Wife of 29 years, mother of 3 grown sons, BELIEVER, nanny, reader, knitter, gardener, walker, blogger, lover of life
This entry was posted in The journey. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to TRUST …

  1. Ginger says:

    All beautiful parts of your life! I love it all. I know God’s hand is on you and He has a plan just waiting to unfold for all of us. Trust, it’s not always easy. I often love my plan and want to force it on the Lord only to find that it was a bad plan and I should have been wiser right from the start.

    I read that quote as well and loved it. I have no idea where I read it. Oh, I know, it was a blog about a very sick baby and his momma said it to his daddy. It really hit home for me.

    Much love as you love on your “Boo” and enjoy the bounty of his yard. Gotta love how the Lord knows our hearts and loves to give to His children!

    Praying for you today and everyday.

  2. Glenda says:

    Becky, this is one of the best posts I’ve ever read! How encouraging; it touched my heart and reminded me that God is at work and does all things well! I needed that!
    It is amazing how God works “out of the box” we try to put Him in!

    I know God will use this beautiful testimony to touch many others! Thanks!!

  3. Debra says:

    This is a lovely post. A great devotional lesson to start my day. We can’t even imagine how wonderfully God looks after us!

  4. Karen says:

    Becky, once again, God is speaking to me through you. I love this post. I’ve been reading an awesome book (posted on my sidebar) and spent an hour on my back porch with it this morning. Then, I read your post and it’s like the icing on the cake.

    I’m so happy for you that you have a rose garden!

  5. Bev says:

    Look at God! He did all you would have asked for, if you’d asked, and then more – to put bushes and bushes of roses in there – how gracious is He? Obviously the perfect lover of your soul. xoox

  6. Madeleine says:

    wOw.

    You are a born teacher.

    And one that has been trusted by HIM to point others to HIM.

    And you are doing an amazing job.

  7. Amazing what God will do with us, for us, in us, ALL of it, IF (oh that pesty little word) we will get out of the way and let Him. You are and He is!!!! He always does!!!! He always will!!!! Because He’s the same yesterday, today and forever.

  8. Ellie says:

    Thanks for this post! A good reminder for me! I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately – my shopping-list prayers. It sometimes feels like I’m telling God what to do and how to best deal with situations. I’ve printed out your post to help me remember, “God, will you please be in this thing.” and also Eph. 3:20.
    btw I love the Mitford books! My mom has the whole series, so I’ll have to borrow them from her and read through them again sometime soon.

  9. Dawn says:

    I absolutely love this one. I am blown away with how God gave you everything you wanted and needed – and so much more! What a mighty God we serve! I can learn a lot from just this one post.

  10. Dawn says:

    BTW – TRUST is my word for the year as well.

Leave a Reply

