Because I can …

A few years ago during a study of Daniel, we were encouraged to sacrifice something for a six week period. The idea was to become more aware of our culture and gain control over our response to it.

Whatever we gave up, it should represent the selfishness of our culture.  And we were to take control of our urges toward it.  Just like Daniel did.

I chose to give up Starbucks. I wasn’t a daily user.  I was a weekly user.  But the reason I gave up Starbucks had nothing to do with the frequency of my addiction, it was the fact that sashaying up to the crowded counter on any given Saturday afternoon and ordering a grande decaf mocha frapp with light whip made me giddy with cultural relevance.

The mantra I found myself repeating for months after the Daniel challenge (for that is how long I went before I walked into a Starbucks again) was “I CAN … but I CHOOSE not to.”

And it was, singularly, one of the best spiritual lessons I have ever had.

It applies to a lot of things in my life.  Things I can legally and morally do without guilt.  But things which were just not the best for MY life.   And the MY part is essential.  This is after all, MY journey. Y’all have your own.  And your “I CAN … but I CHOOSE not to(s)” will be different from mine.

Enough about Starbucks.

Take away 2 letters and plug in two others and what do you get?

“Alex … you get … what is Swagbucks?”

That’s right for 20 Swagbucks!

I am a user of Swagbucks.  Which shall not be confused with Starbucks, even though once you use one you may easily and freely earn the other.

Are you following me or shall I slow down?

Simply put, I have the Swagbucks toolbar on my homepage.  And every time I do a search on the internet for anything (a recipe, a pair of shoes, who came out on top in AI last night) I go through my Swagbucks tool bar. And because I do, I get Swagbucks.

And here’s where Starbucks comes in.  I just ordered 2 $10 Starbucks gift cards FOR FREE.  With my Swagbucks.  It did not cost me a single penny.  But when I pull out my gift card and treat my husband to a long, cold, iced coffee next weekend I am sure I’ll get double points in his book.

And the best part is that this morning, when I finished ordering my cards, my Swagbuck count went down to 32.  And now, just a few hours later … it is back up to 90.  That is how easy it is.

I’ll tell you what is NOT easy.  Trying to get a link to embed in this post on top of the image.  It is not happening.  I am sure it is just me.  The new WordPress account and all.  But here ya go.  Paste this into your browser if you want to check it out.  Swagbucks is free and easy and worth it.

http://www.swagbucks.com/refer/butlerswife

About Becky

Wife of 29 years, mother of 3 grown sons, BELIEVER, nanny, reader, knitter, gardener, walker, blogger, lover of life
This entry was posted in The journey. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Because I can …

  1. Glenda says:

    Wow! Love that lesson . . . I CAN, but I CHOOSE not to! That one will stay with me; I’m sure God will bring it to my mind when I need reminding of an area of my life that needs discipline. Or I should say areaS! Thanks, too, for explaining Swagbucks!

  2. Debra says:

    You converted me to swagbucks a while ago! Thank you for the lesson today.

  3. Karen says:

    The study of Daniel. I just am thrilled to hear how it impacted your life. I just found an unused Daniel workbook in the thrift store two weeks ago. $1.00. I was going to start it during recovery, but you’ve brought up an important point last week about not being able to concentrate very well. ;o) I plan to start it in the Fall.

    Swagbucks. I am clueless. But I need to check it out. Thanks!

  4. Bev says:

    Loved this – Becky thinking deeply and sharing it with us. My blessing for the day. xoxox

  5. ginger says:

    Just checked it out. Sounds pretty cool!!!

  6. Karen says:

    I signed up! Sometimes it posts my points for searching and sometimes not. Hmmm. I need to figure out how this works.

  7. Pingback: This Weekend, I … | Keys to the Cottage

Leave a Reply

