Moving in …

It just seems like the right time for something new.  It must be in the air.  I’ve seen a boatload of bloggers move from blogger to wordpress the last couple of weeks, and a couple more who are contemplating a move.

It is sort of a given, in blogging, that you can pretty much become whoever you want to be.  And since I have, in the last 5 months, acquired a new state, a new house, a new church (still sort of looking), a new job, a new empty nest, and a new perspective, I thought it was time to try a new blog.

So … why “Keys to the Cottage”.  Because I think I need to be ready for another open door. For the rest of my life I believe God will be opening doors. Some I will be praying for and expecting. Others will be a total surprise.

The final door will be the one when I hope God says, “Well done, good and faithful servant.  Here are the keys to your cottage.”

Because some folks may want that mansion in the sky.   But I’m aiming for the cottage on the side of a mountain, next to the babbling brook.  The brook I’ll hear all night long as I sleep with my windows open.  The cottage with ivy growing on the stone walls and the knockout roses that simply will not stop blooming.

So here I’ll be.  The journey looks different as I go through the stages of my life.  But the destination is the same.  And I am choosing to enjoy every moment.

About Becky

Wife of 29 years, mother of 3 grown sons, BELIEVER, nanny, reader, knitter, gardener, walker, blogger, lover of life
This entry was posted in The journey. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Moving in …

  1. Renna says:

    I admire your ability to change directions as God leads you, Becky. I tend to try to hard to hang on too tightly to what is familiar. I wish I were more like you, able to look forward with an excited anticipation. I love the look of your new place. It’s as cozy as the old place, but with the freshness of spring. 🙂

  2. Ellie says:

    Hi Becky. I like your new look!! Why WordPress? Does it have better features that Blogger? I too admire your ability to go with the flow and enjoy changes and challenges. I like new things, but prefer things to mostly stay as they are – although change is more exciting.

    • Becky says:

      Hi Ellie,

      I’ve heard that WordPress is better at catching spam. But mostly, I just wanted a new name and a new look and I thought it would be a fun challenge to get to know a new provider. I’m very task oriented and a new challenge is what I often need. They say it will keep my from getting senile 🙂

  3. Madeleine says:

    Aw Becky. This is so pretty.

    And I already feel at home. 🙂

    And that’s a gift.

  4. Debra says:

    Well said Becky, I hope you enjoy your new spot.

  5. Robinznest says:

    Wow – Becky – your new place is beautiful!

  6. Karen says:

    Welcome home! And a mansion is not what I’m looking forward to, either. My dream is very much like yours, but in Farmhouse style. Next to that brook would be nice, too. ;o)
    You’ve adapted so well to so many changes, Becky, and I admire you so much. Looking forward to seeing new posts here.
    Blessings,
    Karen

  7. Karen says:

    Becky, I LOVE your new place!! Congratulations on your ‘new home.’

  8. Glenda says:

    Love your new place, and I love this post . . . especially the part about God continuing to open new doors! That’s such a hopeful, exciting, thought! And it would be scary if we didn’t know that He always has our best interest at heart!

  9. Becky says:

    Great new look. I’d love to ‘move into’ that cute cottage! How adorable. Did you take that photo?
    Blessings to your new blog! : )

Leave a Reply

